News
Services
Links
Discussion Forum
Working Log
Support LorienStable

Corner

Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 
Riding a green horse

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes Forum Index -> Under Saddle
jersey

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 6:07 am    Post subject: Riding a green horse Reply with quote

I'm currently leasing a 10 yr old Dutch Warmblood mare who is kinda of green (I have had 9 years of riding experience). She needs alot of work in bending and collecting. I have tried working her in circles but everytime that I put my inside leg on her, she speeds up. I try using my outside rein to control the speed but then we end up "fish tailing". What am I doing wrong? Last time we did this, she got frustrated and bucked.

Also, she has a choppy short strided walk which is very difficult to get longer. The only time I get a nice long strided walk is when she is tired. How can I cut to the chase and encourage the long walk in the beginning of our session?

Thanks in advance for your help!
galadriel
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What sort of ground work have you done to teach her about leg aids? What are you doing with your legs when you're not applying the aids? What other leg aids are you using that she does understand? I don't have quite enough information, yet, to make any suggestions Smile

The choppy short-strided walk sounds like naxiety or a poorly fitting saddle. If she's getting frustrated with being ridden, because she doesn't know what to do and is being repeatedly corrected, then anxiety could definitely be an issue. Horses can get tense in their backs--just like people develop upper back tension--when they are anxious.