News
Services
Links
Discussion Forum
Working Log
Support LorienStable

Corner

Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 
Pushy Stallion

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes Forum Index -> Ground Manners
Shannyn

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:51 pm    Post subject: Pushy Stallion Reply with quote

I am a trainer in Mississippi and i have recently purchased a buckskin warmblood stallion to add to my collection of breeding stallions at my farm Razz . This stallion has risen some thoughts in my mind about owners and stallions etc. When i went to view this stallion the owners absolutely had NO control over this 18H 1800lb stallion Shocked . It was rediculious seeing the owner fight this stallion just to show him to me Confused . I bought the stallion to show and breed even though i knew it would be a long journey of retraining. I brought him home and started my round pen training everyday sometimes twice a day, teaching him basic leading and commands. However this stallion is so very pushy. He is ALOT better now- BUT he is still very vocal and somewhat pushy on his stall door - expecially when he even catches a glimpse of a mare in the distance. Progress is slow, but i am just as determined as he is. I often wish people wouldnt buy a stallion if they cant provide the training or afford it, knowing it is going to be BIG, and knowing he must be handled daily, if they CAN NOT do this WHY buy one Rolling Eyes ?? I did get the stallion reasonable but i believe my hard work retraining this guy with some manners is equal to his overall value. I would love to hear your comments on this. Even some suggestions - i am a very open trainer and love to learn new techniques - share your ideas and thoughts on this matter. He is broke very green and i am working very hard on his ground manners before i even put my leg over his back. Thanks for read