News
Services
Links
Discussion Forum
Working Log
Support LorienStable

Corner

Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 
horse behavior problem...HELP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lorien Stable: Trainer's Notes Forum Index -> Under Saddle
blackhorsiegirl

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: horse behavior problem...HELP Reply with quote

hi Very Happy

i've been riding for 2 years,but fell off head first on the ground.i want to get back on the saddle,but i get shakey every time!and i want to ride this big black an arabian or morgan(sorry,i don't know which is the breed).anywho,the horse's heart needs to be won.any ideas?by the way.the horse rears when ever youget on him. Rolling Eyes (he's a 1 year old.give him a break!) Wink
jersey

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

he's too young to be ridden! Wait until he's at least 2 or 3.
galadriel
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. There's a lot to approach in this post.

First of all, no horse is mature at one year of age. Putting weight on an immature horse can cause him a lot of skeletal damage. A horse's body is not up for carrying extra weight (a rider, or even just too much fat) until he's at least 3.

A horse who's ridden too young often will either protest (as in rearing) or simply not move, as the riding stresses his body too much. So horses ridden too young often end up labeled "problem horses" or "lazy"--and then either hurt a lot of people, or cost a lot of time/money in getting them retrained.

It's ever so much easier, and much more practical, just to wait until a horse is old enough to be ridden.